GTA Aquarium Forums banner

Options available to replace stock RSM 130 compact T5

2K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  etuavoli 
#1 ·
Hi,

Every time I go to my LFO, corals look much better than at home. I figured it's because the stock compact T5 on the RSM 130 are too white (10,000K) and I need a softer white and more blue to enhance corals colour. One option would be to have 14,000K/actinic instead of the stock 10,000k/actinic. Knowing that for now I just have "easy corals", I think they should do fine with that type of lighting.
I'm still new to the hobby so I'm far from being an expert that's why I would like your advice.
I've been reading a lot of forums and it looks like UVL has (had...) a combination that could work:
65W 2-in-1 (Super Actinic/75-25) Powercompact and
65W 75-25 14000K Aquablue Powercompact (Straight Pin)
I have hard time to find them online or in the GTA.
Does anybody have other options or could let me know where I can find them?
Please advise as well if you think that moving away from the stock lighting is a bad idea.
Thanks!

#4 ·
If you can swing it now, I would go LEDs then - PCs are really crappy and with LEDs you'll really be able to fine tune the colur spectrum of your tank. And you'll be able to keep just about anything under and LED fixture versus a PC fixture which limits you to basic low-light LPS and softies.

#5 ·
+1 on the going for Leds. The money your going to put in to replacing those bulbs could go towards your Led cost, and if your going to be changing bulbs annually then the cost adds up. Rapid Led has an awesome kit that's quite simple to put together for 200 bucks. If you email them they could swap out the stock Leds and give you the solderless version which would make the install very easy for you. I guarantee you could also convince someone with a bit of know how to come and help you put it together.

http://www.rapidled.com/red-sea-max-130d-retrofit-kit/

#6 ·