5 gallon filter? what is a good pica filter? - Page 2 - GTA Aquaria Forum - Aquarium Fish & Plants serving the Greater Toronto Area.
GTA Aquaria Forum - Aquarium Fish & Plants serving the Greater Toronto Area.

Go Back   GTA Aquaria Forum - Aquarium Fish & Plants serving the Greater Toronto Area. > FRESHWATER > Equipment
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Advertise Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Advertise

Equipment Tanks, stands, heaters, filters, and all your favourite aquarium hardware in one place. Discuss.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2010, 04:21 PM   #11
BettaBeats
re-Planted
 
BettaBeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hamilton/Mohawk
Posts: 1,312
Feedback Score: (7)
BettaBeats will become famous soon enough
Default

thanks all. I have a 2.5 and a 5 gal in my wheely bag with 20lbs of gravel. LOL I hope i wrapped them good and we make it to Toronto with no casualties.

I suspect I need to cycle with a sponge filter too?
__________________
Certified Planning Technician and Site Planner
New Graduate Looking for employment opportunities in the NHGTA
BettaBeats is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-31-2010, 05:51 PM   #12
Darkblade48
Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,528
Feedback Score: (45)
Darkblade48 is a name known to all
Send a message via MSN to Darkblade48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BettaBeats View Post
I suspect I need to cycle with a sponge filter too?
Yes, you will still need to cycle your aquarium if you intend to use a new sponge filter.
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 06:44 PM   #13
BettaBeats
re-Planted
 
BettaBeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hamilton/Mohawk
Posts: 1,312
Feedback Score: (7)
BettaBeats will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkblade48 View Post
Yes, you will still need to cycle your aquarium if you intend to use a new sponge filter.
Is there a way to speed up this process?

Maybe I can make one?
__________________
Certified Planning Technician and Site Planner
New Graduate Looking for employment opportunities in the NHGTA
BettaBeats is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-31-2010, 09:28 PM   #14
Darkblade48
Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,528
Feedback Score: (45)
Darkblade48 is a name known to all
Send a message via MSN to Darkblade48
Default

If you have an existing aquarium with a filter, then you can put the sponge into the filter and let it run for a few weeks so that the sponge itself is seeded with the beneficial bacteria.
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.