Kribensis Breeding - GTA Aquaria Forum - Aquarium Fish & Plants serving the Greater Toronto Area.
GTA Aquaria Forum - Aquarium Fish & Plants serving the Greater Toronto Area.

Go Back   GTA Aquaria Forum - Aquarium Fish & Plants serving the Greater Toronto Area. > FRESHWATER > Cichlids
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Advertise Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Advertise

Cichlids Discus, angelfish, oscars, lake, african/american, etc.

Old 11-15-2016, 01:27 PM   #1
jsic37
Up-and-comer

Feedback Score: (0)
jsic37 is on a distinguished road
Default Kribensis Breeding

My kribs finally spawned! I counted about 30 fry being corralled by their parents. I know the risks fry face. They either die or get picked off by tank mates or parents. So far the parents are doing a good job chasing away fish that get too close. This is the first time I have seen fry so I am relatively new to caring for fry. Should I leave this first batch in the hands of the parents or should I invest in a breeder box to house the fry until they get larger?

Tank mates include Angels, Rainbows, Botias, BN Plecos. and a Sevrum

Last edited by jsic37; 02-09-2017 at 09:47 AM.. Reason: updated information
jsic37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-15-2016, 05:07 PM   #2
Boreas

Feedback Score: (13)
Boreas is on a distinguished road

Predation maybe?

I had swordtails in my community tank for awhile. They would give birth and the fry would all get eaten. Rainbows and loaches would love to have a snack of some fry. If you really want to breed them, consider separating the parents.

I should also mention that my angelfish lay viable eggs regularly, but the eggs get overtaken by fungus, turn white and the parents eat them to protect the healthy eggs. None of the eggs have come to term. That could also be the cause. Lots of people will add medication to a breeding tank to take care of that.

Last edited by Boreas; 11-15-2016 at 05:09 PM..