GTA Aquarium Forums banner

newbie apisto stocking and other questions

2K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  Dis 
#1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to the hobby just 4 months ago, and just suddenly got a second-hand 75G that looks huge compared to what I've had so far (5G for a betta, then 10G with 5 zebra danios, 9 ember tetras and 2 cories). I just moved the 5 zebras into the bare 75G so that really makes it look big. But I've been reading a lot about apistos. I'm planning on making this a heavily-planted tank with sand substrate.

Here's what I'm looking for:

Colourful fish
Relatively easy to keep
Interesting behaviour to watch - I think brood care would be so cool!
Unlikely to eat my ember tetras (or kill/be killed by any fish in the tank)

So I'm thinking borellii, cacatuoides and/or agasizzii from what I'm reading might be my best bet and they are so cool looking! If I can only pick one kind then maybe borellii.

My questions:
1. In a 75 G should I have just one pair of apistos (& to make room for future youngsters)? Or could I keep two pairs (different species) with caves on either end of the 75G?

2. If they do breed, how often would they do so? And what do you do with the young? I'd prefer to leave them in the community tank for as long as reasonable and then I guess try to rehome, but I've been reading that once a new batch of babies comes the parents might kill the old ones if still around?

3. Realistically would I be able to fish out juveniles and then sell/give them away online or at LFS (Big Al's?) when I need to? How often would this likely be if I have a successful breeding pair? How many fry would survive per spawn?

4. What if any other tankmates would be safe to add for the top/middle of the tank? And would it be safe to up my numbers of cories and maybe add a couple khuli loaches, or would they bother the apistos?