Cycle question - GTA Aquaria Forum - Aquarium Fish & Plants serving the Greater Toronto Area.
GTA Aquaria Forum - Aquarium Fish & Plants serving the Greater Toronto Area.

Go Back   GTA Aquaria Forum - Aquarium Fish & Plants serving the Greater Toronto Area. > FRESHWATER > General Freshwater Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Advertise Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Advertise

General Freshwater Discussion For all topics relating to freshwater fish to the in's and out's of maintaining a freshwater tank.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2020, 08:43 PM   #1
Fishmommy3
Member
 
Fishmommy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: toronto
Posts: 147
Feedback Score: (2)
Fishmommy3 is on a distinguished road
Default Cycle question

I have multiple tanks with cycled sponge filters. I set up my 125G with a new filter. I added a bunch of 'dirty filter water' from my other tanks and added one cycled sponge filter.
I checked my water perameters and got the following:
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 1
Nitrate 5

It's been running for almost 3 weeks now. Seeding the tank is supposed to speed up the cycle but my nitrites are stuck on high.
What should I do?
Fishmommy3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2020, 10:33 PM   #2
Kenny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 28
Feedback Score: (1)
Kenny is on a distinguished road
Default

This was an old post....did you manage to get the Nitrite to zero?

If still not, I'd wait a bit still, or if you have access to Ammonia, dose the tank so that you bring it up to 4ppm, and keep testing the water every day or other day to check the Ammonia and Nitrite levels - repeat the does of Ammonia until both read zero.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishmommy3 View Post
I have multiple tanks with cycled sponge filters. I set up my 125G with a new filter. I added a bunch of 'dirty filter water' from my other tanks and added one cycled sponge filter.
I checked my water perameters and got the following:
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 1
Nitrate 5

It's been running for almost 3 weeks now. Seeding the tank is supposed to speed up the cycle but my nitrites are stuck on high.
What should I do?
Kenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2020, 07:11 AM   #3
Fishmommy3
Member
 
Fishmommy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: toronto
Posts: 147
Feedback Score: (2)
Fishmommy3 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you! It's fully cycled now. I'll keep this in mind if I ever have to do it again.
Fishmommy3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.