GTA Aquarium Forums banner

Feedback on my betta setup?

7K views 33 replies 6 participants last post by  malajulinka 
#1 ·
Hi there!

I'm Sarah, I'm just getting into freshwater tanks. I spent about six weeks researching, and these are the specs of what I've put together since getting started:

- A super delta betta named Dean (<3)
- 5 gallon tank, with rim
- 25 watt Hydor heater
- AquaClear 20, baffled to within an inch of its life so that the flow is very gentle
- Two java ferns, one anubias variety (unsure which, it doesn't look like barteri)
- Black ceramic mug as a hide
- Currently no hood, just saran wrap with holes
- No substrate (bare bottom)

To be added soon:

- Small granite stones and shale skipping stones that I picked up from the lake (currently being washed/water tested)
- About five java fern plantlets to be attached to those stones
- Brazillian pennywort (one bunch)
- Indian almond leaf (arriving in 1-3 days in the mail)
- Java moss/craft mesh moss wall

Future plans:

- Upgrade to a heavily planted 20 gal with shrimp and/or dwarf african frogs

I'm seeking constructive criticism; confirming some things will probably work and highlighting the things that need work.

See less See more
#2 ·
What is your lighting? In reality, you don't need a whole lot of light considering you plants. Get a 6500k cfl bulb and some clip on lamp from Walmart. Awesome DIY lighting for small tanks. Also, as a person who has a shrimp tank, I advise against puttin them with any fish except Otos. They just get decimated. Looking good though, have any photos?

#3 ·
I've seen shrimp tanks on reddit where the shrimp were okay cohabiting with a single betta, particularly if they have lots of greenery and other places to hide in, as well enough space. I'll do some more research into it, but worst case scenario I'll still have the five and I can transfer one or the other into it if they do not get along.