GTA Aquarium Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to the hobby and have recently set up my second tank. I did a fishless cycle with ammonia (no additives). Tank was cycled and processing ammonia in under 24 hours so I did a big water change and added 10 panda corys last Wednesday.

I have since done one small water change, mostly just to remove the excess food - maybe 10%. I was WAY overfeeding them, trying to get a handle on how much they will eat.

Today a few of them look like they are shedding their slime coats. It looks like a peeling sunburn. Water parameters are all good, no ammonia or nitrite, nitrates are under 20. I use prime water conditioner, nothing else is added to the water. Fish are not flashing.

Someone elsewhere suggested I do methylene blue baths and a big water change. They suggested that a newly set up tank causing this indicates something is irritating the fish. I can't find methylene blue so the first question is if anyone knows where to get that in downtown Toronto or North York please let me know.

Also, is this is a good idea? Is there anything else I can do for them? Will something like Stress Coat help at all?

Edited to add: No other fish in tank, 10 corys, shrimp and a snail.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Pictures speak a thousand words, as well as a ton more information as stated in the stickies around the forums; in order for someone in the community to give you their best advice they can.

Based off of what you've said, if they are in fact shedding their slime coats (which I have not experienced whatsoever and first thought would be fungus.) then salt baths (1tsp per gal) or methylene blue baths (as stated on bottle) will help, as well as a stress coat bath for extra measure.

I don't know of anywhere in the GTA for methylene blue off-hand, but you can order and receive quite quickly from petsandponds.ca

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
29 Posts