GTA Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Formerly GuppyLove :)
911 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Edit: i just noticed the other day how blurry my photos looked! I usually surf on my cellphone so on there they looked ok but when I saw on my pc they werent too good , so now all my pics will be taken with my digital camera, page 4 of my thread is where those pics start after my FTS for february, sorry bout that!

Starting out My 5.5G Nano Softwater Shrimpscape!
I plan on doing this tank on a tight budget, but mainly it is a great experiment for Me since I have never used "soil" substrate before... and never had low PH before either...so a good learning experience for Me with softwater, and keeping shrimps like Crystal Red which I didnt have so much luck with the first time I tried keeping them, probably the water was too hard.

This is what I have so far:
Tank: 5.5 Gallon with glass lid
Substrate: Fluval Ebi Shrimp Stratum
Filter: AC30 with some cycled media in it
Heater: submersable adjustable 25watt
Lighting: I have a choice of either an old used T8 15watt fluorescent tube fixture that I got for free, or a 13watt PC desk lamp fixture.... I will see which works best in the coming months...
Flora: I have some plants that I could trim from My other tanks, but I plan on covering a few rocks with pellia which I will be picking up from another forum member, but I havent really decided yet...
Fauna: I plan on keeping a softwater shrimp type in this tank... possibly Crystal Red shrimp, or I may try some of My Orange Eye Blue Tiger shrimp in this tank... not decided yet...
Decoration: I may try some small driftwood, and I also bought a cute Fluval Ebi Shrimp tree trunk that is good for breeding and can easily be covered with moss/pellia etc., and I have a nice rock from Menagerie that I was thinking of breaking into a smaller piece...

DAY 1-Contest Start: