GTA Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,046 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I always wonder how some people can take such great photos of their reef tank and corals with a cell phone camera. I just can't do it, they always look like crap to me.

I usually use a Samsung S7 Edge which took decent at best photos of corals, then I started playing around with the lighting setting on the stock camera app and changed it to 10k temperature which looked better. Then I bought one of those clip on orange gel filters which made the coral pictures "pop" but they still didn't look great.

I recently just upgraded to an iPhone XS Max using the clip on gel filter I still think it looks like crap. Are people editing the photos after? or is there a secret?

·
Registered
1,846 Posts
I just used an orange gel covering the len and it has been working OK for me.

·
Registered
2,046 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
All pics were taking with a clip on aqua clip orange gel filter from ebay using an Iphone xs max, no settings changed on the camera app (filters) blue and white is both on. Maybe I'm expecting too much from a cell phone and should learn (relearn) how to use my DSLR....

FTS looks like crap

Close up of some corals

Close up of a fire fish

Probably the best looking ono of some Nuclear Green Torches with purple tips

·
Hunh?
2,545 Posts
I loved my Samsung S7 Edge...took amazing pics. Never tried a gel filter but then again, my old clients lighting were overly "blue".

Have the LG G7 for the past 5 months...hate this phone...should have stuck with Samsung

·
Registered
2,046 Posts
Discussion Starter #5